Weekend Review

1 05 2005

Well, another weekend has come and gone – thank heavens. Back to the M-F fun. Since I’ve been at home, I find the weeks more refreshing than the weekends. Yes, it’s back to that organization and structure that I love so much. Even though we do a lot of spontaneous activities during the week, our days are fairly structured with naps and mealtime. My husband is often home these days on weekends, but with his crazy shift schedule, he might be sleeping in the middle of the day and painting shutters and 2 AM. One never knows.

But anyway, I do love my weekdays, and am always delighted to get back to them.

I got a few bargain this weekend during yard saling. I nabbed a Winnie the Pooh kids table and chair set – it’s white with the characters on the tabletop and pooh and tigger heads on the backs of the chairs. Also found a school bus tent – which promises to be the hit of the house, especially in the winter time.

We didn’t make it to church this weekend again – not even my husband who was up half the night and then crashed about the time he should have been going out the door. I am still very discouraged about the situation. No one really notices we’re gone – except the guy who runs the landscaping ministry. Dh used to help them every month for the last few years. Since his OT has been kicking in and other things going on, he really hasn’t been able to commit any time to it. They still call though.

I sent an email of encouragement to my Pastor a few weeks ago, trying to get fired up about church. I never heard back from him. I have done this a few times when he has preached a sermon that has touched us, and I always got a note back. So now, I’m paranoid concerned.

I do miss going to Church and giving honor to the Lord, seeing a few friends, hearing the Word preached. It’s getting harder and harder for me to get my heart back into it. I even saw someone this week from our church who asked us where we were going now. They already think we’re gone.

I’ve been in almost constant prayer over this during the course of the weekend. In those few moments where I can steal I quick prayer, just wondering what will happen and asking for encouragement to not bring it up with dh. I have gotten no answers, only comfort and knowing it’s in his hands.

My little one continues on his quest to walk. He can walk short spurts, but prefers to cruise around holding my fingers. He’s wild with it to, motoring like a car as he goes along. I can see him getting stronger every day. I’m both excited and scared all in the same breath.

We had a bird visitor in the kitchen this afternoon. I ran out to the store and left the dogs in the backyard. I must have left the door from the garage to the kitchen partially open and the dogs barged in. The little critter must have been stuck in the garage and come in trying to escape. It was a little tufted titmouse and was sitting on my bay window – just as calm as can be. I came over and opened the window opposite him, and he flew right out. Nature comes home.

Here’s one of my favorite Psalms – Psalm 42 in the ESV:

As a deer pants for flowing streams,
so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God,
for the living God.
When shall I come and appear before God?
My tears have been my food
day and night,
while they say to me continually,
“Where is your God?”

These things I remember,
as I pour out my soul:
how I would go with the throng
and lead them in procession to the house of God
with glad shouts and songs of praise,
a multitude keeping festival.
Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

My soul is cast down within me;
therefore I remember you
from the land of Jordan and of Hermon,
from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep
at the roar of your waterfalls;
all your breakers and your waves
have gone over me.
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me,
a prayer to the God of my life.
I say to God, my rock:
“Why have you forgotten me?
Why do I go mourning
because of the oppression of the enemy?”
As with a deadly wound in my bones,
my adversaries taunt me,
while they say to me continually,
“Where is your God?”

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,my salvation and my God.

I stand in the midst of it praising Him.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 05 2005
Carla

Sal…

I just wanted to say, I just love reading your blog. The way you write, I feel like I’m there, watching what you’re describing. I laugh, I cringe, I go “eww” while I’m reading. You’re a blessing to me, and I wanted you to know it.

However… I must scold you for not taking a picture of the titmouse. WHAT WERE YOU THINKING, to miss a photo-op like that!?! Oh wait… I’m sorry, I’m the lunatic photographer, not you. Sorry, my mistake. 🙂

2 05 2005
Sal

Carla –

My first concern with the titmouse was getting him OUT before he “went” all over my kitchen. I thought of it later – someone I know would have taken a picture.

At the time, I had toddler in one arm, groceries in the other and two dogs running around like crazy. I just wanted to let that poor little bird go home.

Leave a Reply

