Product Review: Audio Book – Green Eggs and Ham

21 03 2006

I recently purchased some audio books to help stimulate Bump’s speech. A friend suggested this option. I immediately went to my iTunes to see if there was something I could get without leaving the comfort of my home. I saw that they carried two Dr. Seuss selections – Green Eggs and Ham and The Cat in the Hat. Both contained multiple stories from the Dr. Seuss library read by television stars. While that part didn’t thrill me, we love Dr. Seuss and decided to “go for it.”

I’ve finished listening to Green Eggs and Ham and am offering this review.

The audio selction contains the following Dr. Seuss stories, read by the actors listed:

Green Eggs and Ham – Jason Alexander
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish – David Hyde Pierce
Oh the Thinks You Can Think – Michael McKean
I am not Going to Get Up Today – Jason Alexander
Oh Say Can You Say – Michael McKean
Fox in Sox – David Hyde Pierce
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut – Michael McKean
Hop on Pop – David Hyde Pierce
Dr. Seuss ABCs – Jason Alexander

The Readers
I loved this audio book. Both Jason Alexander and David Hyde Pierce did an excellent job with their readings. I don’t know Michael McKean. He did fine. I think all the selections that he read were books I was not really familiar with, so I was less attentive to them. Pierce and Alexander should have been cartoon characters in real life anyway. The book selection to the readers was perfect.

The Stories
I loved Fox in Socks. That was one of our favorites when Allie was coming through. Pierce handled the tongue twisters with grace. I also enjoyed Alexander’s version of Green Eggs and Ham and Dr. Seuss ABCs. In fact, I didn’t realize it was him reading one of the stories – he didn’t sound like George Kastanza at all.

The background music offers a great back drop to this audio book. It’s truly done in the spirit of Dr. Seuss.

The only thing I didn’t like was that iTunes offered it as a single selection 55 minutes long rather than as nine different tracks. When I burned it to CD, it split up the tracks in an odd way – lumping things together at time, so you have to go through part of one story or a whole story to get to the next.

I recommend this selection for those who love Dr. Seuss and want to provide it on audio to their children. It also received high marks on Amazon and can be purchased there on CD for the same price as iTunes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

