Listening for the Wind

5 03 2007

I know that spring is a windy time of the year, but where we live it’s just nuts sometimes – and not just in spring, but all year round. I guess because we’re close to a couple of rivers, the wind must just come off of the ocean and whip right up.

Today was no exception. Despite being in the 60s, it was really just too windy to go outside with the kids until later in the day. As sunset approaches, the wind usually dies down some. So we made a late afternoon visit to our subdivision park about a block away.

Bump has a great time there, and today was no exception as we haven’t been in a while. I followed him around as he did everything. I just let him run as I carried Zach in the Ergo.

There is a large baseball field in the park. We haven’t spent much time there, as often there are games going on. But today it was silent and empty and Bump charged across the field to see some random object left behind by someone else. A light wind blew. Above the toddler chatter, I could hear something. It was the wind. Not the wind that was here, but the wind gust that was coming.

I turned around to face the direction of the noise getting louder and louder. Was it really the wind? I looked at the tree tops. Nothing moved yet. But as I looked further back through the bare branches of spring, I could see them bending, and moving our way. And the noise got louder and louder. Suddenly it was upon us, this wind gust – blowing our hair and chilling us. I hugged Zach tight in the carrier and held his hood up. Bump laughed at the wind.

And then it was gone. And off we went to run around the basketball court and chase whatever fancied a soon-to-be 3-year-old boy.

Actions

Information

One response

6 03 2007
lindiepindie

That’s sweet – laughing at the wind. :o)

We have tennis courts at our park and the boys love running on the lines. I haven’t been able to take the boys to the park much because of my allergies, but hopefully in a few weeks my shots will kick in and we’ll be off to the park again!

Leave a Reply

