January Books

31 01 2009

I’ve been wondering why I haven’t finished any sewing projects this month, actually since early December. It’s because I’ve been reading so much. Here’s my book list for the month and some thoughts.

Knit Two by Kate Jacobs – I liked this one better than the first because there seemed to be more depth to the characters and we got to know different characters. After reading, I invested in some knitting needles, and have tried knitting. So far, not much progress.

Found Dogs by Elise Lufkin – A nice little book with short stories and pictures of rescued dogs and their owners. Some excellent stories.

Sisterchicks on the Loose by Robin Jones Gunn – The Sisterchicks books are fluffy to me. They are much lighter than the Yada Yadas. I always seem to like the characters, and am saddened that we don’t keep following the same gals through all the books. I like the travel element as I don’t much like traveling and they have given me a little peek at some new places.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – I loved this book. Incredible and moving.

Yada, Yada Prayer Group Gets Decked Out – Book 7 by Neta Jackson – My library finally got this book so I could finish the series. It tied a few things up neatly. I think I liked this one the least of the series.

Gardenias for Breakfast by Robin Jones Gunn – I really like parts of this book, and didn’t like other parts. Was glad when it was over.

Blue Like Jazz by Don Miller – Another book I just loved. Miller is talking my language in this one, as I am trying to figure out the balance in how to deal with faith in every breath.

Sisterchicks Down Under by Robin Jones Gunn – Chicks in New Zealand and Australia. Kind of fun. Liked this one better than the first, but still fluffy.

Pawprints of Katrina by Cathy Scott – Love. Love. Love. I had no idea what went on in the wake of Katrina in the animal rescue world. This is the view through the eyes of the Best Friends animal sanctuary. Some very heartwarming stuff.

Peace Like a River by Lief Enger – Another great book. Of course, the midwest twist always sucks me in. But seriously, this wound a lot of elements together and is still leaving me thinking about components of it.

Be a Pack Leader by Cesar Millan – I’ve been watching a lot of dog whisperer shows this month, so had to get the book to see his approach on paper. Although his methods are supposedly controversial, I think he has a lot of good ideas in here. I always love the stories though of the dogs turning around.

So that’s all for the month. I would say there were 3 excellent books in there –

The Kite Runner
Blue Like Jazz
Peace Like a River

But, Pawprints from Katrina was also good if you’re an animal, and especially dog lover.

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 01 2009
Donna

Nice quick reviews 🙂 You gonna try to keep up the pace, or just take ’em as they come?

1 02 2009
Yvonne

LOVED the Kite Runner, looked for Blue Like Jazz at Half Price Books just the other day, but didn’t find it. I just heard about Peace Like a River and want to read it, actually I think it was Donna that mentioned it. 🙂 I haven’t read any of the others. I am having a tough time concentrating on reading lately, trying to sell the house, keep it spotless, my attention span is that of a flea!

1 02 2009
Donna

Yvonne, fleas have short attention spans? I did not know this! 😉
A few weeks ago I found Blue Like Jazz at the used bookstore, which was nice. Think I paid $3 for it. Still have yet to read it. I began it quiet awhile ago, but didn’t get too far before I got distracted and left it. Don’t remember anything. Gosh, I love talking about books 🙂

3 02 2009
Shelly

I really loved Blue Like Jazz. If I find it at the used bookstore by us, it’s mine.

It starts out a little slow and it’s very thought provoking, so it takes a little concentration to get through it.

I have something else of his in my bookbag, but I’ve got at least 2 more before I get there.

I think I might be on track for another big reading month….

Leave a Reply

