February Reads

27 02 2009

Harry Bentley’s Second Chance by Dave Jackson *** 1/2 – The story line for these Yada Yada like books is not quite as appealing for some reason as the originals. I read Where Do I go? – which is a parallel story written by wife Neta, and it just confused me some.
Sisterchicks do the Hula by Robin Jones Gunn *** – Okay I got stuck on the Sisterchicks. I got 4 of them on reserve from the library before I had read one. They were light and fluffy books, for the most part, stories of different female friends hooking up in unlikely circumstances for a trip somewhere to discover themselves and God in a new way. I think they appealed to me merely because I have absolutely zero chance of that happening in my life right now.
Sisterschicks in Sombreros by Robin Jones Gunn *** 1/2
Sisterchicks OOOH La La by Robin Jones Gunn ** 1/2
One Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini **** 1/2 – This was easily as good as The Kite Runner. The characters were so compelling. I couldn’t put it down.
Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller *** 1/2 – Not as good as Blue Like Jazz, but still a lot of interesting things to think about – such as “Cool is a Myth.”
Sisterchicks in Gondolas by Robin Jones Gunn *** 1/2 – My favorite of the Sisterchicks books, set in Venice.
So Brave, Young and Handsome: A Novel by Lief Enger **** 1/2 – Although I loved Peace Like a River, I wasn’t sure about this one. It took a few pages in developing. In the end, I think I liked it better than Peace Like a River. It was a different story, very different than PLAR.
Sisterchicks Go Brit by Robin Jones Gunn **-My least favorite.
Eat. Pray. Love by Elizabeth **** – I thought I was going to hate this book when I started. It’s the one year journey of a woman to rediscover herself after her divorce. She travels to Italy, India and then Indonesia. I actually went through my own divorce all over again in the first section of this book. It then started to appeal to me more. Despite her Yoga connections with God, I saw and identified clearly with many of her struggles. Her trip to Indonesia was the thing that turned me off a little. I won’t spoil it for everyone, but the end of her journey did not make sense to me.
The Knitting Circle by Ann Hood **** – Just finished this one. A mother’s journey to find herself after the death of her young daughter through the therapy of knitting. As each of her new acquaintances shares the tragedies of their lives, the main character fumbles through her own grief and loss. Better than the Friday Night Knitters.

My favorites this month:
A Thousand Splendid Suns
The Knitting Circle

Actions

Information

One response

1 03 2009
Donna

Nice reviews. I still can’t get over how fast you read, lady.

Leave a Reply

