April Reading

29 04 2009

Here’s my list of books for April 2009:

  • The Face by Angela Hunt – A young woman is a CIA “behind-the-scenes” computer geek, and has a mysterious past along with a facial deformity due to a childhood illness. Her last remaining family discovers her existence and tries to get in touch with her.
  • She Always Wore Red by Angela Hunt – This is book two of the fairlawn series. Jennifer has inherited a funeral home and goes through the struggle of adapting to a new life in a new state managing her family and her new business.
  • Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell – Bell, a pastor at a Michigan mega-church, writes about faith in the 21st century. Lots of different ways of looking at our lives. I’d like to read this one again in a few months, and take some notes. Lots of good “one liners” with revelation.
  • She’s in a Better Place by Angela Hunt – Book 3 in the Fairlawn Series. Jennifer must deal with a whole new set of problems in her life. Will she pass her boards to become a licensed mortician in the midst of it.
  • The Shack by William T. Young – Finding God in the agony of our daily situations. Good book. Great book.
  • Split Ends by Kristin Billerbeck – This is Twentysomething Christian fiction. A stylist moves from Wyoming to Hollywood to train under a well know Salon. She carries her faith with her. How will it impact her daily life as she struggles to leave behind her alcoholic mom and the past of a small town girl.
  • The Elevator by Angela Hunt – 3 women trapped in an elevator in Tampa during Hurricane Felix all have connections to one man. As the storm descends upon them, will they be rescued? They share pieces of their lives, their fears, their mistakes. What will happen when they realize their other connection.
  • Magdalene by Angela Hunt – A historical novel retelling the story of Mary Magdalene. (It’s no Da Vinci Code. Not that I’ve read the Da Vinci Code, but I’ve heard of it.)

I also started but couldn’t finish, The Ten Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer

My favorite this month, The Shack. I may even purchase a copy of that one and read it again.

I’m moving right along here. I have 8 books in my book bag. I hope I can get them all done. I kind of went on an Angela Hunt thing here this month. She’s a Christian author who writes all kinds of stories. Faith is always a part of it, but on different levels, many times more subtle. But, I think there are 4 of her books in my bag. She’s written a lot and my library has many of them.

If you want to read more on my reviews, click my “goodreads” button in the sidebar.

I’m always looking for reading suggestions. What are you reading?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

