July Reading

28 07 2009

I’m posting this already. Sorry for my lack of posting, by the way. We’ve been overcome with many,many summer things. I’m in the middle of painting two bedrooms and this saga has been going along for a couple of weeks. We are also getting new carpeting and hardwood floors during my upcoming trip to Wisconsin. So where do you put all the stuff if all of your floors are getting redone???? The Kitchen and the bathrooms???? Not my problems. I’m leaving that to my fabulous husband who is staying home to coordinate the whole adventure.

I also recently lost my Grandmother to cancer. She was diagnosed and gone within a week. Truly tragic in a way, but yet many of us felt like it was her time and know that she is now in the arms of Jesus and away from the many frustrations she faced in this world. The boys and I got to talk with her via webcam and say our goodbyes a few days before she passed. What a blessing that was. Technology is good.

Reading has been sparse here in light of all the projects going on. So here’s my 5 fabulous July books:

What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynne – This won an award. Hard to figure out why. It had some interesting components, but was very dismal indeed. Creepy.
The Gurnsey Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Schaffer – This is the story of one author’s journey to the Island of Gursey in post WW2 era to meet her pen pals. In the process her life is changed forever by the people, and their stories. It’s told through letters between the various characters. While the story itself has some merit, the letter format bored me to tears.
The New Rules of Lifting for Women by Lou Schuler – A nice book about the advantages of building muscle via weight training vs. the traditional cardio approach. Specifically targets women. Includes diet tips and workouts.
Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas – Really enjoyed this one. It’s the memoir of a Colorado mountain woman living during the depression. She shares the stories of her life and her loved ones both here and gone.
Winter in Madrid by C.J. Sansom – One of the most painful books I have every read. A Cambridge Professor is recruited as a spy during WWII to keep tabs on one of his old school buddies who is possibly a pivotal figure in Spain at that time. The build-up was long. The characters were not endearing in any way. At the end, you are left feeling cold, like you’re visiting a cemetery.

I also started Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen by Christopher McDougall. Despite my love of running, I could find nothing to draw me into this book. ZZZZZZ.

That’s it for July. I’ll be posting here more about my vacation and my successes and struggles with the P90X program.

Actions

Information

One response

30 07 2009
Mountain Mama

I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother’s passing, but thank God she didn’t linger and suffer.
Yes, I certainly agree. Modern technology is wonderful, and those last good-bye’s are so important.

You certainly do a lot of reading. My oldest daughter does too, but I have so much else to do that it’s hard for me to get interested ion anything.

It’s exciting to get new floor coverings and extra special when you don’t have to be there to deal with everything.
Hope you have a wonderful trip.

Leave a Reply

