The Break Up

20 12 2010

I broke up with the Green Bay Packers this weekend. It feels good. It was a long time coming. My 6 year-old son is distressed by this event. Bump has 2 teams right now – the Vikings and the Redskins. And he is totally in love with football at this very moment. He just can’t understand how I can “give up” on my team. I told him, “Honey, it’s not my team.”

Anyone who has known me for the last 20 years, knows that I was a rabid Packer fan. It started when I was in college and went full throttle when I moved to Green Bay and worked at the Packer Hall of Fame. I am the type of person who has to know everything about a subject or an interest. The Packers were no different. I knew it all, every bit of detail I could get. I gave tours at Lambeau Field. I went to games, and even tailgated in the parking lot when I didn’t have tickets. I bled green and gold.

Things started to change the day I got in my ’93 Chevy Corsica and drove halfway across the country to start my life over on the East Coast. Though it was easier to get information on the team via sports TV and the internet, somehow I had lost that emotional connection that binded me to the team. It got weaker and weaker with every player change, every coach change. Finally, the only tie left ws an aging quarterback named Brett Farve. The summer the Packers and Farve had a break up of their own was the day it all began slipping away.

I looked at the “new” Lambeau Field on the TV.

It was not my stadium.

I saw Aaron Rodgers.

He was not my quarterback.

Mike MacCarty was not my coach.

Ted Thompson was not my GM.

This was not my team.

Over the last few years, I have tried to cheer for them, I have tried to reach inside myself and ignite that passionate fire. But as the old song goes, “I’d lost that loving feeling.” Sundays became for NASCAR, not for football. And even I cannot believe it has come to this.

But, things change. And I’m an “in or out” kind of person. So thanks for the memories Pack. A part of me will always love you. xo

Shelly

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

