Book Review – Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued

23 02 2011

Title: Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Women She Rescued
Authors: Kim Meeder, Laurie Sacher

Summary: Laurie decides to adopt a 9 year old Australian Shepherd mix from an at risk family situation. The dog has obvious health issues and some not so obvious. But Laurie is in for the lesson of her life. She sees herself with different eyes through her relationship with her dog, and also sees the trail back to a God who she’s sure has forgotten her. Laurie’s story is told through her relationship with Kim Meeder, boss, mentor and friend also owner of the Crystal Peaks Ranch – a place where broken horses have found new lives.

What I Liked: I love the lessons God teaches us. I love it even more when we become aware that he is at work around us and look through a different lens to see what he has for us. This book is the story of brokenness, of God’s Grace and an animal story – all rolled into one. I have had many dogs touch my life in different ways. I loved that Laurie shared bits and pieces of her many attempts to find meaning in her life. Amazingly enough, it was a dog as broken as she was that led her back to God. This is a beautiful story of finding God. And also of a girl and her dog.

What I didn’t Like: The format of the book – the story being told through the eyes of Kim Meeder bothered me a little. While it served as a good vehicle for the lessons that Laurie was learning about God, I thought that Laurie’s own voice might have made the story a little more powerful.

Overall: I really enjoyed this book. As a dog and animal lover (I enjoyed Kim Meeder’s other books), I have often myself see the hand of God through the life of his creations. Laurie’s mistakes and hurts laid out humbly on the table of this book struck a cord in my own life.

Rating: 4.5 stars. This is a nearly perfect read for me. Love it!

Note: Book provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. All opinions expressed are my own.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

