Currently Reading 11/7

7 11 2012

I really don’t keep a formal TBR – because it’s constantly changing. I really don’t know what I will want to read from one minute to the next.  I am constantly running across new books, free books, library books.  I just know when the time is right for a certain book.

Here’s what I’m working on now:

American Lion: The Story of Andrew Jackson’s Presidency by Jon Meacham – Yup, I just finished Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power by Meacham, and now I’ve moved onto Jackson.  It’s a pretty good book so far.  I love the Petticoat War!  Amazing stuff.

Twelve Months by Steven Manchester – A really good book about a man given 12 months to live and what will he do.  A little sad and heartbreaking, but still enjoying.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Reading it for the Book Worms Book Club.  This is my 4th time through.  Join in if you want!

One Thousand Gifts – by Ann Voskamp – A Christian book about Thanksgiving.  How appropriate.

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic – Kind of a little stalled on this.  Lots of good truths though.

Finished since my last update:

Dinner with a Vampire by Abigail Gibbs – 4 Star book – Review coming soon.

Highland Destiny by Hannah Howell – 3 star Romance.  Kind of a fun little read to break up some of the non fiction I’ve been reading.

The Carousel by Rosamunde Pilchard – A short little book.  Not as good as some of her other things I’ve read, but still a nice read for a stormy afternoon.

The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley – 4.5 stars – Historicalish Fiction – I’ve fallen in love with Kearsley’s unique writing style of blending the past with the present.  Will be posting a review soon.

Skywalker: Close Encounter on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Walker – AT Memoir – 4 stars – I always enjoy a good AT Memoir.  Walker’s is good and I look forward to reading about his adventures on the Pacific Coast Trail.

Where’d You Go Bernadette? by Marie Semple – 3 stars – Humor/Fiction – I was thoroughly delighted with the first half of this book, less so with the ending, but still a unique and adventurous story.

Coming Soon (I think):

City of Dark Magic – by Magnus Flyte

Does This Church Make Me Look Fat by Rhoda Janzen

The weather is getting colder and the days getting shorter.  Primo winter reading time coming soon!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

