Recently Finished 12/6

7 12 2012

My reading life is like and ebb and flow.  Mostly a flow I think.  But sometimes after finishing a few books, I will have an intellectual lull, where I think about the story and characters a bit before diving into the next book.  Here are a few things I’ve finished lately:

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan – 4/5 stars – a story that seems to be on Imageeveryone’s list this year.  A charming little mystery that involves intrigue, but not some sicko mass murderer.

Devil in the White City by Erik Larson – 4/5 stars – Larson tells the story of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair alongside the story of serial killer H.H. Holmes, who was operating in the vicinity of the fair.

Does this Church Make Me Look Fat? by Rhoda Janzan – 5/5 stars – This is the sequel to Mennonite in a Little Black Dress.  Janzan shares her faith adventures as she divers into a charismatic church – a contrast from her Mennonite faith, and deals with breast cancer, a new relationship, blended families and more.  Humorous at times, but more heartfelt.  One of my favs this year.

Virginia’s Haunted Historic Triangle by Pamela Kinney 5/5 stars – I’m a sucker for these types of ghost books.  Kinney shares some of the haunted locations in the Williamsburg, VA area – a place loaded with history.  Not only does she talk about history and the personal experiences of others, but she investigates the locations.  Lots of nice little bits of history on the area.

Notorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich – 3/5 stars – I don’t know why I keep reading these books.  It’s the same old song and dance.  Stephanie’s car gets blown up.  Someone calls Lulu fat.  Grandma Mazur wants in on the action.  Stephanie can’t make up her mind between Joe and Ranger.  Yada yada yada.

Currently Reading

Twelve Months by Stephen Manchester – I really love this book, but have had a hard time getting through it this season.  It’s the story of a man who is dying of cancer, given 12 months to live, and what he does with that time.  It’s incredibly touching at times, but also very sad.  I hope to finish it next.

Unstoppable by Nick Vijucic – Stuggling to get through this one, too. Nick’s story is very inspiring.  He is amazing and he has allowed God to work in his life and been rewarded.  I just am not bonding with the material.

The Civil War Part I: Fort Sumter to Perryville by Shelby Foote – Okay, I’ve cleared my other HIstory reads.  Time to dive into the Civil War!

As the month is drawing to a close, and the year, I’m pushing to pass my 2011 total for number of books read.  I am 10 books away!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

