Book Review: Magnificent Virbration by Rick Springfield

4 05 2014

Thank you Simon and Shuster for providing me an advanced reader’s copy of this new novel by Rick Springfield.

Title:  Magnificent Vibration

Author: Rick Springfield

Genre: Fiction

My Rating: 2 stars

I have to admit that I can not finish this book. Springfield’s character is caught up in male hormones, plain and simple. His friend “Woody” is always with him and often talked about, along with other topics that I do not care to read about in a novel.  So, at 20%, I have simply given up.

The book has two veins going. First, Bobby finds God’s number and calls him. God is rude, crude and obnoxious.  Then God does a little mystifying on Bobby- things to make him believe.  Bobby, in the meantime, is sharing the story of how religion and sex got entangled for him during a Mormon call to his house.  I didn’t get the whole gist of where this was going, but apparently it created a lot of tension for the teenage Bobby.

Secondly, there is a line about a guy in a boat in Scotland who saw the Lochness Monster for real.  How these two lines intersect, might be an interesting story.  However, as I said, I’m not going there.

The book is a first person narrative, with Bobby having a more blunt voice than the Scotland sea captain. Initial setting for Bobby is in a bar.  Yeah, he calls God from a bar.

As a fan of Rick Springfield’s music, I didn’t quite expect this kind of book.  I would say that it doesn’t necessarily appeal to his music fan base, but might be something more geared towards men.  I can’t really recommend it to anyone.

Note  I was given a copy of the book by the publisher.  All opinions expressed are my own.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

